Candidates for Ph. D. programmes are advised to ascertain the areas of research and the availability of vacancies under their proposed Supervising Guides in the University Departments / Schools or Recognized Institutions before obtaining the application Forms.

A candidate who wishes to pursue a programme of study and research leading to the Degree of Doctor of Philosophy of the University will be required to seek registration to the programme as a full-time / part-time research student in a University Department / Recognized Institution under an appropriate Faculty.  In  the case  of a  Recognized  Institution,  part-time  registration would be granted only for permanent employees of that institution.  Candidates who are working in research projects relevant to the research  topic that has been taken up by a Department or by a Recognized Institution and funded by internal or external agencies, will be deemed to be full-time students if they are admitted to the Ph.D. programme.  Candidates who are applying for registration, as part-time students shall be considered for registration only where the Research Committee is convinced that effective supervision can be ensured

Eligibility for Admission to the Ph.D Programme

Candidates seeking registration to the Ph.D programme shall hold a Master’s Degree from a recognized University with 55% marks in the qualifying examination, or a CGPA of 6.0 in the 10 point scale or an equivalent grade in similar scales. A candidate belonging to SC/ST community is eligible for concession upto 10% marks for admission provided that he/she has a pass in the qualifying examination.

  1. Candidates seeking registration shall have passed the Departmental Admission Test and ranked as per the norms laid down in the regulation.
  2. Candidates who possess national/state research fellowship with valid scores, with committed financial assistance at the time of seeking admission, in any of the national/state level eligibility tests conducted by the agencies or by industries so recognized by the University for the purpose, are exempted from provision (ii) above.
  3. Teachers of Universities/Aided Colleges in Kerala/Teachers who are working in Quasi Government/Government Institutions recognized by CUSAT and scientists in National Level Research Laboratories, who have put in five years of continuous service, and foreign nationals who have been sponsored under a scholarship scheme by the Government of India for undergoing Ph.D. programme in India, are exempted from provision (ii) above.

Application Submission

Candidates for PhD/ M Phil/ MA Translation-German & Russian / Diploma/ Certificate programmes can obtain the  printed application form from the concerned Departments by paying the required application fee through Demand Draft issued by State Bank of India or State Bank of Travancore only, drawn in favour of “Registrar, CUSAT” payable at Ernakulam


1) The Departmental Admission Test (DAT) shall have two parts.
           a) Written test  (b) Interview
2) Candidates who have scored at least 50% marks in the written examination alone will be eligible to be ranked  for admission.
For Ph.D Programmes Candidates belonging to SC/ST communities are entitled to a concession of 5% marks in the written examination of the DAT.
3) The weightage for written test and interview for ranking will be as follows.
 Marks obtained in the Master’s Degree Level    50%
Marks obtained in the written test  30%
Marks obtained in the interview      20%
Total     100

Interview for Admission

All candidates seeking admission to the PhD Programme who have passed the admission test with a minimum of 50% score, or who are exempted from the admission test under clause 2(c) (iii) above, shall be required to present themselves for an interview with the Research Committee or with a Sub Committee appointed by it. It shall also scrutinize the academic records of the candidate, the research proposal made by him/her in the application, the long term plan of the academic work to be undertaken by the candidate and recommend remedial courses to be taken by the candidate to complete the requirements of the course work.  For the new Ph.D regulations please visit the PhD regualtions in the University Website.

The following Departments offer Ph.D. Degree in the respective fcaulties.

School of Engineering, Trikkakara

Faculty of Engineering  

Ph:0484 - 2556187

School of Environmental Studies

Faculty of Environmental Studies  

Ph:0484 - 2577311

Department of English and Foreign Languages

Faculty of Humanities  

Ph:0484 - 2575180

Department of Hindi

Faculty of Humanities  

Ph:0484 - 2575954

School of Legal Studies

Faculty of Law  

Ph:0484 - 2575465

Inter University Centre for Intellectual Property Rights Studies

Faculty of Law  

Ph:0484 - 2575465

School of Industrial Fisheries

Faculty of Marine Sciences  

Ph:0484 - 2354711

Department of Atmospheric Sciences

Faculty of Marine Sciences  

Ph:0484 - 2353662

Department of Chemical Oceanography

Faculty of Marine Sciences  

Ph:0484 - 2382131

Department of Marine Biology, Microbiology & Biochemistry

Faculty of Marine Sciences  

Ph:0484 - 2368120

Department of Marine Geology and Geophysics

Faculty of Marine Sciences  

Ph:0484 - 2366478

Department of Physical Oceanography

Faculty of Marine Sciences  

Ph:0484 - 2363950

Department of Applied Chemistry

Faculty of Science  

Ph:0484 - 2575804

Department of Biotechnology

Faculty of Science  

Ph:0484 - 2576267

Department of Mathematics

Faculty of Science  

Ph:0484 - 2577518

Department of Physics

Faculty of Science  

Ph:0484 - 2577404

Department of Statistics

Faculty of Science  

Ph:0484 - 2575893

Department of Applied Economics

Faculty of Social Sciences  

Ph:0484 - 2576030

School of Management Studies

Faculty of Social Sciences  

Ph:0484 - 2575310

Department of Electronics

Faculty of Technology  

Ph:0484 - 2576418

Department of Instrumentation

Faculty of Technology  

Ph:0484 - 2575008

Department of Polymer Science & Rubber Technology

Faculty of Technology  

Ph:0484 - 2575723

Department of Ship Technology

Faculty of Technology  

Ph:0484 - 2575714

International School of Photonics

Faculty of Technology  

Ph:0484 - 2575848

Department of Computer Applications

Faculty of Technology  

Ph:0484 - 2576253

Department of Computer Science

Faculty of Technology  

Ph:0484 - 2577126


  1. Model Engineering College, Kochi – 21
  2. National Institute of Oceanography, Kochi – 18
  3. Rubber Research Institute of India, Kottayam 686009
  4. Cochin Base of Fishery Survey of India, Kochi 682005
  5. Central Institute of Fisheries Technology, Kochi 682029
  6. Kerala Forest Research Institute, Peechi, Thrissur 680653
  7. Kerala Institute of Local Administration, Thrissur 680581
  8. Central Marine Fisheries Research Institute, Kochi 682018
  9. Naval Physical and Oceanographic Laboratory, Kochi – 21
  10. Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre, Thiruvananthapuram 685022
  11. Marine Products Export Development Authority, Kochi – 16
  12. Centre for Earth Science Studies, Thiruvananthapuram 685031
  13. Central Coir Research Institute, Coir Board, Alappuzha 688522
  14. Centre for Marine Living Resources and Ecology, CSEZ.div.O. Kochi
  15. Space Physics Laboratory, VikramSarabhai Space Centre, Tvm – 695022
  16. National Institute of Fisheries Post Harvest Technology and Training, Kochi 682016
  17. Centre for Water Resources Development and Management (CWRDM), Calicut 673571
  18. Central Institute of Fisheries Nautical and Engineering Training Division, Kochi 682016
  19. National Institute for Interdisciplinary Science and Technology, Thiruvananthapuram 695019

This site is developed and maintained by IRAA, CUSAT - © IRAA,CUSAT 2015.                  Updated on 01/08/2014